Skip to main content

Distinguished Achievement Award

The HEF Distinguished Achievement Award in Holocaust Studies is bestowed at the biannual Lessons and Legacies Conference upon individuals who have been exemplary teachers, scholars, and mentors.  They are selected by a committee that recognizes the winners for their extraordinary contributions to the field of Holocaust Studies through their groundbreaking scholarship and selfless devotion to their students and colleagues.

The Distinguished Achievement Award has honored these remarkable people, whom we thank for their devotion to the study of the Holocaust:

Doris Bergen
Richard Breitman
Dalia Ofer

David Cesarani
Peter Francis Hayes
Marion Kaplan
Lawrence L. Langer

Roger Brooks
Dagmar Herzog
Steven T. Katz
Francis R. Nicosia

Jan T. Gross
John K. Roth
Nechama Tec

Omer Bartov
Geoffrey H. Hartman
Yehuda Bauer

Christopher Browning
Saul Friedländer
Michael Marrus